Immersion Starts with Sound

Gabriel Asay
2 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Today, we’re diving into sound in Unity, an important part of making games come alive. I’ll show you how I’ve added background music to my game. Music sets the mood and adds to the experience, so it’s essential for any game. Let’s jump in and learn how to put some tunes into your Unity project!

I’ll begin by setting up an empty object called ‘Audio Manager.’ Then, within it, I’ll create another empty object named ‘Background.’ Under this, I’ll attach an ‘Audio Source’ component to handle the background music.

The next step is to drag and drop the audio file into the “AudioClip” field and set it to loop, as it’s our background music. With that, we should be good to go!

As we conclude, remember that background music isn’t just about filling silence — it’s about enhancing the entire gaming experience. Whether it’s setting the mood, evoking emotions, or guiding players through the gameplay, background music plays a key role in engaging players and immersing them in your game world. So, take the time to choose the right music for your game and integrate it thoughtfully. Happy coding!

--

--