Frogkey

Gabe Sotomayor
3 min readMar 17, 2023

--

This is an action/adventure third-person game where the player plays as a Frog named Hopps and learns about the future of an unknown island. He then learns the fate of it and takes action in trying to save it, having a Princess, a King, and other different enemies standing in his way.

A capstone project in my senior year for both the spring and fall semesters, I had the opportunity to work as a game designer as well as level designer for this game. I was tasked with working on the main castle, as the main character Hopps goes to visit the King and the Princess in this area. The town hub is connected to the castle, and I had to initially build the blueprint for the castle. I created four floors including an underground jail, secret dungeon, and the throne room floor.

I initially created an RPG map of the level on a 2D scale. The map that I have with reference images, a legend, and other different markings is posted below.

After creating the initial blueprints, I now begun creating my own basic assets and grey-box the exterior of the castle. I created watch towers on the corners of the outer walls, a drawbridge, and a moat surrounding the castle walls. Down below is the grey-scaled image in Unity Engine.

After modeling out the exterior, I had done the same thing with the interior. Basing the designs from my RPG map, I created different rooms on each floors with the additions of walls and staircases. Below is the interior of my grey-box.

After finishing the grey-scales of the castle and outer walls, I then began adding in the final assets that were either created by my other group members or free assets that we were able to use online. For the placeholder assets like stairs, walls, and pillars, I replaced them with the actual assets that were to be used for the final designs.

Below are pictures of the final castle design, from the jail to the dungeon to the different floors and eventually to the throne room as well as showing the outer castle walls, drawbridge, and watch towers.

Here, you can find the itch.io link to the game where you can find more information as well as downloading the game: https://bfigueroa.itch.io/frogkey

--

--