Think Twice, But Don’t Overthink It.

Gabriela Fitz
2 min readMar 7, 2023

--

(Image of a Homer Simpson-like character with a donut for a head, eating a donut)

This month I have been in business for five years, which means that I have also been thinking about sending out a regular email for, well, about five years. Finally I am taking my own advice, eating my own proverbial KM cooking, and keeping it simple. After all, it is better to share, invite, and work out loud than it is to polish, perfect, and never hit send. So, one image, one #aha from the last month, and one quote from something I have been reading.

Warmly,

Gabi

P.S. In case you missed it, even Marie Kondo has found peace with the mess.

#aha

Every time I start a new KM Discovery effort with a client I am reminded that trust building is part of the discovery process, not a blocker to it.

#onequote

There has been a lot of discussion about the potential promise and peril of Artifical Intelligence lately. This quote from the founder and CEO of Data for Black Lives rose above the fray for me.

“Often, the conversation around AI [focuses] on what we at D4BL have come to see as a distraction from the real threats these technologies pose. Our activism has led us to worry less about whether AI can become ‘human’ and more about how AI will be used to determine who is human and justify state violence against those categorized as nonhuman.

The battle for the soul of AI is not about preventing tech from becoming human but about preventing AI from being used to define who is human and who is not.” (No Humans Involved)

--

--

Gabriela Fitz

social sector systems supporter, conscious KM-er, anti-nationalist, learner, photographer, earthling