The Aftermath

Gabi Grace
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

Ambulance Ride

After my mother’s fall, she became very depressed. She lost her job and was in terrible pain.

Her boyfriend hung on for a little while but didn’t want to be sidled with a disabled woman with a kid. She started taking a lot of pain medication, which became another one of her addictions.

She had a very hard time trying to deal with what was happening to her. We all did.

Her boyfriend moved out, but let us continue to live in the new trailer for a couple of months before he took it back.

Mom laid in a daybed in our living room for several months, trying to heal from an injury and heartbreak that was impossible to deal with.

I watched her like a hawk, I knew things were not right. She was taking a lot of pain pills. She was difficult, unable to cope.

After one of her bouts of depression due to her situation, she ran in the bathroom with a bottle of pills, locked the door and downed them all. By the time I broke in, she had taken them all, so I had to call 911.

I ordered her stomach pumped for the first time at age 14.

This would not be the last time…

Please read the next part of my journey at Trying to Cope

--

--

Gabi Grace

My favorite movie quote is “Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome” ~ Hope Floats, and that is what my blog is about — overcoming.