Three signs that you are in the wrong place

John Doe
2 min readDec 28, 2018

--

If you don’t like where you are, it might not be your fault. Okay, you applied for that job and you were hired. But, do remember that some people also evaluated you if you will fit there or not. Yes, fit that is the word the the employers seem to prefer.

Bellow I am going to give you three examples that happened to me.

1. You speak nobody listens

I was in a team that they find me a weird person including the manager. One day, the manager called me, not sure why me, and he told me to let the team know that he will nor arrive at the office and that I must tell them to fill their time sheets earlier than usual.

And so I did. I was in a meeting with the whole team (7 people) and at the end of it, I told them what our manger said to me. No reaction from them. I did speak up, it was not a mumble.

Later I found out that not of them was aware of what I told them to. The way I see it is that there are two possibilities:

  • the whole thing was a setup so I could be blamed for not informing the as my manager said to me.
  • they are all weird and I am normal person so that is why they find me weird.

Either way, that place, was not for me.

2. Your professional attitude is not appreciated

Relating to the story above, I did showed to the office on time, I did wore the required dressing code etc. Some of my former colleagues told me that I should be the employer of the quarter — don’t mean to brag around.

However that team, used to came at the office at 10:30 AM at the earliest, sometimes the manager was half drunk.

They were always late delivering the tasks. I was the newest team member, and often I was not able to perform my work due to the fact that I did not know the full context of the project.

Obtaining help from them was a real challenge. Not just the fact that they were mostly unavailable, but also that they said that I was bothering them asking questions.

3. For every solution you found you get another problem

Relating to the project above, since we are in debt all the way — some serious work effort was need it.

Work was not their favorite word. Whatever I proposed something for the issues in hand, they found it inadequate.

After 8 months on that project, where all I did was to accumulate frustrations, I was removed from the upper management without any action from my end. It was good news for me.

I don’t even know why did I try to make a difference there. That place was not for me. If a flower does not bloom, you don’t fix the flower, you fix the environment.

--

--