Publication Desn. Project 1: Visual Essay

Gabriela Lazo
2 min readFeb 18, 2023

--

Week 3

Today we had to show our map/story board and also some drafts for the final booklet. I did the visual map and some drafts still about my home country (original topic) but after working on this last week I’ve finally decided to change my topic. I don’t like how this topic is going and I don’t feel like is interesting enough to tell a story at least not easily in just 16 pages.

After talking with proff. Amy about new ideas for my topic, I came up with a new topic which is still not very defined as it might need to change or get more broad if I were to use it in future projects. But, basically what I want to work in now is Folklore Tales and its impact in society’s history and values.

I have to start with something smaller though so I want to tell the story of this ecuadorian folklore tale called “The Vailed Lady”. I think it’s a story that has a lot of elements that can be represented visually but I still have to find a way to make imagery for the project without making it too literal.

Project is due next week so I might have to start from scratch and update a new map/story board.

--

--