Why “Little Drummer Boy” Is My Favorite Christmas Song

Gabriel Glasser
2 min readDec 25, 2019

--

Sometimes the best gifts are not things. It’s awesome to get a sweet gadget or a nice pair of wool socks (anyone?), but do those really bring us the most fulfillment?

Meaningful relationships are what bring us the most fulfillment.

I had always heard the Christmas song “Little Drummer Boy”, but it wasn’t until this year that I actually questioned what this song is about. What’s this kid playing a drum for? What does this have to do with Christmas?

When I looked up the lyrics, I was touched by the song’s meaning. Below are the lyrics. In between every line is “Pa rum pum pum-pum”, which I deleted to make the actual lyrics easier to read.

Come they told me
A newborn King to see
Our finest gifts we bring
To lay before the king
So to honor Him
When we come

Little baby
I am a poor boy too
I have no gift to bring
That’s fit to give our King
Shall I play for you?
On my drum?
Mary nodded
The ox and lamb kept time
I played my drum for Him
I played my best for Him
Then He smiled at me
Me and my drum

The lyrics, like many of the classic Christmas songs, describe the nativity scene of the birth of Christ. The only gift the “poor boy” can offer to baby Jesus is playing his drum the best he can.

This is a sweet message. Sometimes the best gift we can give someone is not a thing, but some gesture out of love. We can listen to our family and friends, giving them our full attention. We can forgive and forget familial disagreements and tensions.

We don’t have to spend money to show someone that we care about them. For me, this kind of gift-giving is what Christmas is all about.

And what better time to show eachother that we care? We’re near the Winter solstice — the days are short and dark. Here in Oregon, it’s cold and rainy, and everyone is gathered together inside. Instead of distracting yourself with social media or other diversions, try and take the time to “play your best” for your loved ones. I promise it’ll be the best gift they’ll get.

And here are my favorite versions of the song:

Darlene Zschech: This version is on a Christian worship album. I usually don’t enjoy this kind of music, but I feel that this version best captures the sweetness and sincerity of the song’s meaning.

Destiny’s Child: Yup. A little different turn, but the dopeness of this version is irresistable.

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings: Funky Christmas music makes me happy.

--

--

Gabriel Glasser

Engaging the creative spark through writing: stories, ideas, wellness and career path development.