Concerning Hope

Gaby Moubassat
2 min readOct 24, 2016

--

“Hope is a waking dream” Aristotle

In the past we, as humanity, held great dreams and aspirations of making our world a better place; we find today ourselves in a world where such hopes and aspirations are fading. Ideas such as “world peace” and “ending world hunger” used to be goals that could be achieved; today such concepts are not being discussed, as if we have come to believe that such goals could not be realized, and this mentality is forcing people to seek their own interest even if it was on the expense of others.

Many factors have driven humanity to reach this state of despair. The capitalist economic system, which prevailed over the last decades, is without any doubt one of these factors; another factor is the illusion created by the advertising industry showing us a world where a person’s worth is measured, not by who he is, rather by what he possess. But above all it is the negative images and news, broadcasted by the media on a massive scale, which are responsible for the world’s lack of hope and dreams. (If you think I am exaggerating, watch any of the newscast introductions while making an effort to notice the negativity)

Have we reached a state of submission to such a cruel world? Have we given up on great concepts, such as equality and peace? I haven’t.

My hope remains strong and steady; my hope guides me like a ray of light in the darkness, a ray that is gentle, but remains one of the few things that are worth holding on to. My hope is mine, and mine alone; no one can take it, nor limit its aspirations; I alone can limit myself, and I choose to transcend reality to where dreams flourish and love blossoms. A person can hope for his own development, but only together can we hope for a better tomorrow. The world can keep its fact checked reality, but I shall forever keep my Hope.

--

--