Grace Oji
2 min readDec 27, 2022

WHEN I PRAYED TO BE MORE LIKE GOD I WASN'T EXPECTING THIS

Photo by me

“O to be like thee
O to be like thee
Blessed Redeemer, pure as thou art
Come in thy fullness
Come in thy sweetness
Stamp thine own image deep on my heart”

This hymn is one of many like it that teaches us to pray to be more like God.

This belief is well grounded in the Christian faith where God is The Father and the faithfuls are His children. A child born always takes on the image and features of His parents; in line with this thought we as God's children are built to reflect the image and likeness of God.

We are meant to:
- Speak the truth
- Be kind and forgiving
- Love unconditionally

The above list should probably include having an experience of one-sided love and affection which I had never imagined while praying the simple prayer, "Lord make me more like you."

A personal experience; I've been drawn towards people, who seemed to care nothing about me, to love and care for. I felt God was leading me to pray for them; and despite the coldness from their part when I did extend a hand of friendship I was set on keeping them in mind.

In your Christian journey with The Lord you'll meet those you've come to love and desire to keep as friends, all out of a pure heart that wills to be a strength to them and show them the love of Christ; while they prefer to keep you far without the kindness to value your acts of love. So here I am telling you to never regret your decision to love. This is a way to build you up within.

John 15:12
This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.

Remember God is with you and this began with Him, The Lord, our Father who loves every man, who daily calls them to draw nearer to Him. Some have become yielded and others are hardened against Him. But one truth remains that they are forever loved by God.

Keep on loving no matter what, in the place of prayers.