Six Bags Full of Wool

The Intergener
4 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

(The baa baa debt infinity)

By Maki Gonzales

One month passed in a blink of an eye.

It’s now time for my batch in intergen to be the sponsoring batch.

We have to assist this batch of candidates like what the batch that precedes us did for our batch.

I’m excited, as it was our turn to show our gratitude for the blessings we had received as the previous intergen candidates.

Once again, I’m with my parents and my cousin.

I brought my three bags of wool. One for the candidates, one for my batchmates and intergen family and one for my Master,

My Lord Jesus Christ.

On the road, I’ve already opened one bag of wool as I prepare to give my thanks to my Master.

We arrived late as the activities on friday night are almost done.

Before we call it a night, our batch and my cousin, who is the assisting weekend coordinator, huddled to assign the duties of each person for the proceeding of tomorrow’s activities.

I opened the remaining two bags of wool as I voluntered to ring the bell at six ‘o clock in the morning.

After the quick huddle, we breakout for a good night rest.

The dawn breaks and I did it! I manage to wake up at 5:30 in the morning.

I took a quick bath then I rang the morning call at 6am sharp.

As I make my first rounds, I saw my cousin open her door.

She had a look on her face that’s caught between being amazed and being proud.

She knows I’m not a morning person. That’s why she had that look.

After my morning greetings, everyone settled for breakfast.

One of my batchmates prepared a coffee for me to show her appreciation for the morning rooster.

The meal ended with a light sharing and caring together with some polishing of todays assigned duties.

The activities started and proceeded as scheduled.

I was assigned to monitor and coordinate schedule and assignment on the prayer vigil on the Blessed Sacrament.

I wasn’t allowed to sit in on the group counseling as we had to leave this saturday evening for we had to celebrate a family affair the following day.

I spent the whole day on the prayer vigil.

I diligently prayed to God to fill the Blessed Sacrament with the Holy Spirit and to let the candidates feel His presence like He did for our batch.

If there are two of my batchmates present to continue the prayer vigil, I would take a break and join in some wisdom sharing with some members of the intergen family. If there’s only one praying, I would accompany them for their hour long commitment.

I persevered through the end, optimistic of the outcome.

As the vigil ended, we arranged the chapel in preparation for the highlight of the day.

The offering of prayers in front of the Blessed Sacrament.

Night has spread in the sky and I took a back seat and relaxed while listening on the on-going activities.

Then everyone took a break for dinner.

After some digestion and chatter, it’s time for the final activity of the day.

Everyone proceeded to the chapel to offer their prayers in front of the Blessed Sacrament.

My role this time is to catch those who offered their prayers after receiving a bastion of Holy Spirit.

The candidates prayers started and they moved me. Compared to their prayers, my prayer when I was a candidate was trash.

From what I’ve heard, I’m certain that God had already touched them.

The goose bumps and elation lingered until the end. When it’s finally over, it is time to cooldown and pack for home.

I was tired. When I was a candidate, I was never tired on that Saturday.

That exhaustion was the stamp receipt for the three bags of wool.

While I was packing my things, I noticed I have another three bags of wool.

The bags were labeled. One from the candidates, one from our batch and Intergen family and one from my Master,

my Lord Jesus Christ.

I was rewarded one bag by the candidates through their prayers.

The second bag has a smell of coffee and filled with wisdom, caring and filial feeling from our batch and intergen family.

The last bag, my Master woke me up for the morning call. He brought all of us together. He was with us every moment.

He helped our batch to jell together as one unit. He filled the Blessed Sacrament with Holy Spirit.

He made all things possible.

Thank you candidates, my batchmates and intergen family.

--

--