Why Yarn, just another package manager?

Miko Gao
1 min readOct 24, 2016

--

Facebook released Yarn, a new package manager days before. I just read through their announcement but haven’t tried it yet. If I made any mistakes, please don’t hesitate to point out.

In their announcement, they explain what Yarn is created for. And I also experience what annoys them and really glad there is a better solution to these problems. But it seems like Yarn is just a upgraded package manager. What I don’t understand is why they choose to

Rather than continue building infrastructure around the npm client, we decided to try looking at the problem more holistically.

Why don’t they just contribute to npm, but choose to make something ‘new’ with most of it are identical to the old one? Contributing matters, isn’t the meaning of the open source development?

If you really want to change the world, give me a car instead of yet another faster horse.

You know what, if I am the npm maintainer, I’ll merge all the good features of Yarn into npm and release a new version. Just like what Apple have done to those App developers.

--

--