How Friends Changed The World of Sitcoms Forever

Gaby Garant
3 min readMar 8, 2023

--

The first time I watched a rerun of Friends, I was both intrigued and disoriented. While the teased hair, 1990s cultural references, and New York lifestyle were odd to me, the characters were eerily familiar. I didn’t watch another episode until the 2021 “Friends: The Reunion” was aired and I became intrigued again. The original show is still streaming on a loop, which makes it feel like no time has passed at all. What was it about this story focused on six young professionals at a specific moment in time that still speaks to audiences today?

From the moment it first aired, Friends became a phenomenon in pop culture. Learn more here Even now, almost thirty years after its release, Friends is still one of the most cherished sitcoms of all time. Watching Friends has made me realize that it’s a show that I needed. I not only understand the hype around the show but, it has also taught me not to be afraid of taking risks.

At the core, Friends is a character-driven narrative about relationships. Over the course of the show, we got to see the evolution of six very different people as they began to rely on each other for support, advice, and camaraderie. From the beginning, the show’s creators, David Crane and Marta Kauffman, made it clear that the bond between the six characters was the heart and soul of the story. Their friendship was what kept audiences hooked on the show throughout the seasons.

Friends is also a window into 1990’s New York City. From the iconic coffee shop, Central Perk, to the unique personality and challenges of each character, it’s hard to imagine pop culture today without the show’s impact on fashion, lifestyle, and music. The show’s catchy theme song (“I’ll Be There for You” by The Rembrandts) is still instantly recognizable today.

Friends paved the way for a new era of television. In the 90s, sitcoms were often similar to one another, with predictable storylines and exaggerated characters. Friends changed all that. It was new, original, and real. It tackled serious issues like divorce, unemployment, same-sex marriage, and adoption, but always did so with humor and empathy. Its influence can be seen in the numerous sitcoms that followed, for example New Girl and The Big Bang Theory. Learn more here

It’s clear that Friends has left an indelible mark on pop culture. Its impact on me is the lesson that my 20s are a time to take risks, possibly stumble, but try again so that I can create the kind of adult life that is authentic to my needs and my values. Friends is a celebration of the idea that we’re stronger together than we are alone. That’s a message that has resonated with me and audiences worldwide for three decades, and will continue to do so for generations to come.

#COMM206

#I’llBeThereForYou

--

--

Gaby Garant
0 Followers

I'm an SOU student who enjoys creating visuals from material that I've read. Making it appealing for my viewers and helping them want to learn more.