Ya No Forasteros: Breaking Down “Otherness” in Student-Centered Teaching

Garris Landon Stroud
4 min readDec 5, 2023

--

Photo by david carballar on Unsplash

As an educator committed to student-centered teaching, I’ve been granted the incredible opportunity to participate in an Innovation Circle Fellowship throughout the past year. This initiative took me beyond the borders of my familiar classroom environment and transported me to the vibrant backdrop of Mexico City (CDMX). The focus of my journey was a Spanish immersion program, a transformative experience that not only enhanced my language skills but also allowed me to reflect deeply upon the concept of otherness and, in turn, better serve English language learner (ELL) students.

Embracing the Unknown

Arriving in Mexico City, I was immediately struck by the bustling energy, rich cultural heritage, and the warmth of its people. The unfamiliarity of the surroundings was a stark reminder of what it feels like to be a newcomer, a feeling that I’m certain many ELL students grapple with daily. This realization prompted a shift in my perspective, urging me to approach my experience with openness and humility.

As I began my Spanish immersion program through the Spanish in the City school in the Condesa neighborhood, I found myself navigating a maze of language barriers. Despite my minor in Spanish and a host of experiences abroad, the occasional struggle to communicate, comprehend, or express myself in a language that wasn’t my own offered invaluable insights into the challenges that many ELL students face. First-hand experiences of linguistic vulnerability like these deepen one’s empathy in a way that leisurely language study back home simply cannot. But most importantly, the experience renewed my commitment to creating an inclusive and supportive environment for my students.

Photo by Carlos Ramírez on Unsplash

Cultural Immersion and Understanding “Otherness”

Staying in Mexico City wasn’t just about mastering the language; it was about immersing myself in the richness of Mexican culture. From traditional foods to local customs, each experience provided a window into the lives of others. The process of understanding and embracing the unfamiliar allowed me to reflect on the concept of “otherness” and its profound impact on so many of our young people’s lives.

In the classroom, the term “otherness” takes on a different dimension. It can refer to the feeling of being different, of not fully belonging. In the Spanish language, an outsider is a forastero, which can sometimes be translated as “stranger.” As educators, allowing ourselves to be fully immersed in cultures that may seem strange or “outside” of our norm can be incredibly instructive, fostering a heightened sensitivity to the unique challenges our ELL students face in adapting to a new language and culture.

One of the most powerful lessons from my immersion experience was the realization that stereotypes are often rooted in ignorance. Because I was able to interact with locals, I witnessed the diversity of perspectives and lifestyles that defied the narrow stereotypes often perpetuated in educational settings.

For example, many American travelers may hold the stereotype that CDMX is a dangerous destination with high crime rates, perpetuating an image of danger and insecurity. The city is often perceived as economically underdeveloped with widespread poverty and crumbling infrastructure, and the influence of drug cartels is assumed by many to be prevalent. But this isn’t the case.

On the contrary, Mexico City is a metropolis with diverse neighborhoods, each offering completely unique experiences. While there are areas with higher crime rates, the majority of the city is vibrant, safe, and filled with cultural richness. In terms of cultural stereotypes, CDMX transcends traditional imagery, boasting contemporary architecture, a thriving culinary scene, and world-class museums. Witnessing this firsthand was a great reminder to me of the importance of challenging preconceived notions.

Photo by Robbie Herrera on Unsplash

Bridging Cultural Gaps in the Classroom

Returning to my classroom armed with a better understanding of how “otherness” can impact our young people, I’m seeking to create an environment where every student can feel seen and valued. This begins with diversifying our texts so that students can better see themselves represented as a part of our larger school community. By incorporating diverse perspectives, I hope to cultivate an atmosphere that celebrates our differences in an authentic way. I’m also working on procuring more content-related Spanish language resources, which will be especially useful for students whose English skills are early in their development.

The stories and experiences I gathered in Mexico City became powerful tools for cultivating empathy. Providing a platform for students to share their own stories, cultural backgrounds, and challenges can help break down the barriers that often impede effective communication. I’m hoping that I can continue to grow and challenge my thinking as ar esult of this experience to create a more inclusive and dynamic learning environment for everyone.

Photo by Oscar Reygo on Unsplash

--

--