Medium

GARY GO
2 min readJan 3, 2015

Medium is now the medium to tell stories. Spotify is the medium to listen to music. Twitter is the medium to send public sms messages. Instagram is the medium to broadcast pics of everything you do as you do it so you actually stop doing it for a moment to take a picture of you doing it. Vine is the medium to create quirky video loops. Living through mediums. I don’t recall my old process. The way I used to work. Uninterrupted. I think. I was scrolling up and down my phone screen last night, when I realised I wasn’t actually paying any attention to what was on the screen whatsoever. It was like my thumb had gone into business with my screen without discussing it with my brain or my soul. My right thumb is so used to scraping up and down my phone screen that it now just seems to do it out of habit. It feels comfortably familiar. It feels normal. It is normal. Now. For myself and so many of us. I do ponder about the human experience of the scrapey thumb generation. The generation that will never buy a CD (I’m not sentimental about times and formats changing) and soon perhaps the generation that will not go to the cinema etc. It’s called a SMART phone as though it is born smart, independent of the person using it. The phone is smarter than me in so many ways. It knows the way to go when I’m lost in the city. It knows a good spot to grab a taco. It remembers the numbers and birthdays of my friends and family and those curious chracters I meet when I’m drunk. Note to self: Don’t let your SMART phone out SMART you.

--

--