I lost 25 pounds without dieting!

Working from home and changing when I ate is all it took

Gary Johnstone
3 min readSep 23, 2021

The transformation is not radical, I’ll grant you. I’m 5’10”. In Feb 2020 I weighed 203lbs. Today September 2021 I’m 178lbs. A loss of 25lbs. No big deal, you may say. Okay, but let me say this, it feels fantastic. And I did it by not dieting!

I hate dieting. I’m a binge eater when I get the hangries. Hell, I’m a binge eater any time I wanna be.

So losing weight, shrinking my BMI from 29, just under obese (which starts at 30) to 25.5, a shade over normal is a mind-boggling achievement in my eyes. An accomplishment all the merrier as it took no effort and no pain whatsoever.

My company shifted to home working when the pandemic hit in late Feb 2020. Until that time the Korean Take Away next door to our office and its fried chilli chicken was a temptation I succumbed to twice a week. On the other side of the office was a Marks and Spencer’s Food Hall. If you’re not a Brit then let me tell you M&S is a dealer in food crack. Tubs, yes tubs, of salt and pepper cashews, mini millionaire shortbreads and just about any form of sugar, cocoa, fat and salt you can think of. If you’re American, think of Trader Joe’s and all the chocolate coated blueberries and milk chocolate coated potato chips – you know that aisle – well that’s…

--

--

Gary Johnstone

Award-winning documentary filmmaker and author. Writes about addiction, history, philosophy. Currently obsessed with the development of early Christianity.