Christian: Is ‘The Rapture’ Close?

Or is that just a popular escapist church doctrine?

Gary L Ellis
5 min readAug 29, 2023
Image by Author with Canva

The 1969 original release of the Larry Norman song, “I Wish We’d All Been Ready” was highly popular among a large portion of the Christian audience.

In part, the lyrics stated…

A man and wife asleep in bed
She hears a noise and turns her head
He’s gone
I wish we’d all been ready

Two men walking up a hill
One disappears and one’s left standing still
I wish we’d all been ready

There’s no time to change your mind
The Son has come and you’ve been left behind

My Early Experience

It was early one Saturday morning when my parents were always home. As I came out of my bedroom, the house felt empty. I called. Nobody answered. I said, with a knot in my stomach,

“Mom and Dad have been raptured, and I’m still here!!”

Believe it or not, this scene played out in several different ways during my early years.

It has an official title these days. It’s known as “Rapture Anxiety.”
And it’s still alive and well for children to adults.

Evangelical Rapture Theology

--

--

Gary L Ellis

Over 40 fruitful years as a Life Coach, Public Speaker, Relationship Counselor, and Creative Communicator. FOLLOW and get my EMAILS for updates!