If Someone Has All Three of These Things,

Gary Vaynerchuk
3 min readJan 26, 2015

Hire Them

So, look: there are things I talk about that I just like talking about: Wine, investing, the Jets, etc. But then… there are other things. Things that I want to force feed everyone until they get it. No, seriously. I mean it. If I could magically make everyone feel these things as strongly as I do, I would. So here are three things that are very dear to me. If you get them, you’re one step closer to understanding me.

Patience

You know how I talk about giving back? Paying it forward? Do good things for other people and good things will come to you? Well, I mean all of it. But the other side of the coin that I don’t often talk about is the patience that has to come with that. Nothing is going to happen all of a sudden. There is no instant gratification when it comes to business. And that’s a really tough pill for some people to swallow. When you give back or do a favor for someone, you’re going to have to chill out and relax for a moment. You can be go go go, working and hustling twenty four seven, but things still take time. Lack of patience keeps people from achieving their greatest aspirations. I’ve known so many people who never got the upside they deserved because they couldn’t be patient. It’s a tremendous loss.

Word is bond

My dad taught this to me, and I’ll never forget how important it is. When I walked into his business at age fourteen, I was a bit of a bullshit artist. I thought I knew everything, and I was dead wrong. I would not be where I am without my dad’s correction of that. He repeated this “word is bond” lesson to me over and over till I understood that delivering on a promise is the most important thing you can do in a relationship, personal or business. When you make a commitment, no matter what, you stick to it. If you take the time to learn the goals and hopes of people around you, you can work to get them there. Even if it’s just a small step, they’ll appreciate that you were there, that you listened, and delivered on it. The best part? Now you have one more person who may deliver on what you want in the future.

Empathy

This is the big one for me. I rely on this for success in both of my businesses, and I hire for it because I know it’s what makes a great leader. When you’re in charge of a project, the last thing you need to be is authoritative. What you truly need is empathy. It’s amazing that people still can’t understand this. When your team runs into problems, you need to become empathetic. Straight up. Listen, don’t talk. Like I said above, be patient. Don’t try to talk your way out of a problem. Ever. Just shut up and listen. How can you solve the problem if you don’t even know what’s going on?

What did you think? Would love to hear your thoughts. And if you liked it, please pass it along to someone you know and click the recommend button below. ☺

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets