The Age of the Introvert Entrepreneur

Gary Vaynerchuk
3 min readFeb 18, 2015

Contrary to popular belief, you don’t need to be an extrovert in order to be a successful entrepreneur.

Don’t believe me?

Take a look at the huge amount of successful entrepreneurs that people talk about every day. Zuckerberg. Ev Williams. Kevin Systrom. David Karp. If those names aren’t familiar to you, maybe you’ll recognize these: Facebook. Twitter. Tumblr. Pinterest. Instagram. Ringing some bells now? I thought so. While I can’t personally speak to each of them self-identifying as introverts, I do know they’re absolutely not the kind of people who might run up to you at a party and just start talking (like me, for instance).

In the past, things like networking events or conferences were where a large amount of connections were made. Or your connection would set up a meeting for you. Those scenarios absolutely made it necessary for young entrepreneurs to put themselves out there in an outgoing way. If they weren’t outgoing, maybe they found it necessary to bring someone on board who was. But now, it’s different. We are in the glory days of the introverted entrepreneur. Because of technology, there are so many ways to build a company now, talk to people and make connections in the business world; all without leaving your desk.

Now, face to face is no longer the standard. While it eventually will happen when you’re building a big business, the persona you put out there can be determined by your online interactions and presence.

Technology has changed the game.

I am an extroverted entrepreneur. That is no secret. My energy levels usually go far beyond entire crowds when I give keynotes or speeches. I put myself out there and surround myself with a lot of people.

But because of all that, I would never try to fake another side of myself. You will never find me sitting behind a computer all day and doing it all online, because I know my strengths. I know that a meeting will benefit me because I can get my points across and bring that energy to the table.

Introverted entrepreneurs need to think the same way. Don’t fake it. Bet on your strengths. If you need to sit down all day at your desk and focus, do that. If that is working for you, make it happen that way. But never think that you need to be louder, more outgoing, a bigger personality; like yours truly for instance. This is a tremendous time for you to be building a company, and the ball is in your court.

Social media, technology and the current precedent being set all put things in your favor. The scale is tipped. Bet on your personality. Don’t fake it.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed it, please scroll down and click the “recommend” button. It would mean a lot to me.

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets