It’s better to be a “big fish in a small pond…”

Gary Vaynerchuk
3 min readDec 4, 2014

If your professor says this, he’s a loser.

I’m talking “It’s better to be a big fish in a small pond.” A little while back, someone once asked me if I agreed with this statement because their professor had said it as life advice. It is definitely something I do not understand at all. Bottom line for me: it’s small time thinking. I don’t subscribe to it, and I do not accept it. Not in my DNA.

But do you agree?

I’ll answer for you: it’s crap advice. Done. Now you’re one step closer to where my thinking is right now with this whole thing: big fish, whole world.

I think one place this advice could work is for people who are delirious and think they’re better than they are. There’s a lot of practicality to it, right? Obviously, it’s much easier to be the most successful business man in a small city than it is to be the most successful business man in the WORLD. So I understand the thesis, the idea and the thought. But honestly, does no one else find that statement to be extremely conservative? Let me explain.

The way to move yourself forward in a positive and surefire way is through self esteem and optimism. What I mean by that is, early in your life, you should absolutely shoot for the highest stars you can. Don’t let a smaller version of an idea pass through your thinking. When you have the time to dream and plan, always be looking for the next huge move. Now, what happens is that as life moves on and time moves on, you need to become more practical. You’ve got bills and kids, and all the things that come with living a life. But if you get nothing else in this article, get this: to start your career in those first crucial years, to be in the small pond thinking ABSOLUTELY limits your possibilities.

There have been so many people who have hedged and settled in their lives. And I’m not the kind of character who is going to play in that sphere. I am going in a different direction. It’s what comes natural to me, but it’s also because I truly believe that I can be the BIGGEST and the BADDEST in any game I play. It’s just how I’m wired. And I’m thinking you should probably join me on that path, and ignore this phrase that professors, teachers, and marketers can’t seem to get out of their heads. When you get down to it, this is very bad advice for some people and ATROCIOUS advice for other people. It could be what stops someone from following through on an amazing, big idea.

Don’t EVER feel like you need to diminish an idea. If you love it, hustle. That’s all.

Thanks for reading this! If you got something out of it, could you do me a solid and hit the recommend button just below this? I’d really appreciate it.

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets