The Quagmire of Judgement | Foolish Wisdom.

Gates Ogbebor
2 min readJun 11, 2022

--

Judging issues amongst friends can be stressful so staying neutral is the safest option, but depending on the kind of friends you have, sitting on the fence may not be possible, that was the situation I found myself.

After telling Gabriela that Malu was a disrespectful chicken and convincing Malu that Gabriela was the lizard, I felt relieved that I settled their quarrel amicably and separately. But then, I walked into the class and found the two girls still at loggerhead with each other and quarreling. Their expressions said “come and support me”, I knew I was in a quagmire- who was I going to support?!

The truth is always the best, complete truth. Pleasing everybody is impossible so why try? I wished I had addressed their issue properly but they always managed to show up at inconvenient times. I attempted to please both parties but ended up digging a ditch for myself.

Malu called Gabriela a lizard and said I could testify to that. Gabriela also said the same except that she used disrespectful chicken. Now I was the topic of their dispute, I hated myself.

What worsened the matter was the fact that I had my own troubles to deal with, we all do, troubles I considered personal. But, considering the fact that I held friendship in high course, I had to listen.

I managed to settle the dispute amicably, now in a really sensible way.

What exactly transpired? It was an issue of relationship, they both wanted the same boy as their boyfriend. However that wasn’t enough to create such chaos between childhood friends. There had been some kind of intimacy between Gabriela and this guy even after Malu told her she had feelings for him.

Malu had walked into the tenebrous class after school, only to find Gabriela and Danny together. He was as hot as his name. She expressed shock and ran out at sight of them. I had thought Malu’s boyfriend broke up with her and started dating Gabriela.

The class encounter was minor, there was a kiss! Now I was questioning my settlement, it seemed like the fight had just begun.

To be continued…

--

--