Steps That Bite: Inspired by Sia

Gates Ogbebor
1 min readJun 29, 2022

--

“World I want to live you better, I want my life to matter, I am afraid I have no purpose here.” — Sia in the song ‘Courage to Change’

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Mother nature has treated me unfairly for she kept me stagnant

My little feet unable to keep up with her swift pace

Are my cries unheard or has she chosen to be hesitant?

I move in circles, it feels like I’m in confined space

In fierce willpower I take a step to become a change debutante

Risking all I have to begin an uncertain race

Would this be called courageous or stupidly blatant?

Few steps into adjustments and I feel no grimace

The world attacks with ferocious lashes, cruel and exorbitant

Despite stumbling blocks I strive with unprecedented grace

Without steps of change, would I be one with unfulfilled chants?

Tears and sacrifices but all end with a smiling face

The slightest step to change may seem difficult, but determination is what keeps you strong. Not minding society or norms, if the change makes you a better version of yourself, then CHANGE!

--

--