Advantages and disadvantages of electric scooters

Maksim Gatilin
2 min readJun 27, 2018

I spent my last vacation in Gelendzhik, which is a resort town in Krasnodar Krai, where I saw an electric scooter for the first time. At first I didn’t realize why an old man was using such an infantile kind of transport. But then I realized that it wasn’t a usual scooter, it used electric power. Then I found an electric scooter rental and gave it a shot. It was… amazing! So, now I’m going to buy one and before it I decided to think about the advantages and disadvantages of electric scooters.

Advantages

Easy to use

All you have to do is to kick off and press the gas button. After a 5-minute ride I felt very comfortable and confident.

Glad feelings

This is my face when I rode:

Photo by Janaya Dasiuk on Unsplash

I don’t remember the last time I felt so happy in a short period of time.

You look more attractive

I’ve never seen a guy with an electric scooter in my home town. So, when I ride a scooter everybody will notice it. I think I will feel cool.

Disadvantages

Price

I compared different models and chose Xiaomi Mijia Scooter (M365), which costs $450. In Russia you can buy a lot with this money, so it’s really an expensive thing.

Body gets tired when you ride

You have to keep your hands on the handlebars, so your hands get tired. You also shouldn’t move your feet to keep balance. After an 1 hour ride I felt exhausted. I hope I just need more training to feel better.

Scooter won’t make you fitter

If you use a bicycle, you will definitely become healthier. But you might become lazy with a scooter. Why would you walk to a shop if you can use the scooter?

It’s just a toy

What if riding a scooter becomes boring? What if I spend $450 and then my super expensive toy will gather dust?

Conclusion

I don’t know if it’s a good idea to buy an electric scooter or not. But I will definitely buy it, and if I’m not satisfied I will sell it. What do you think about this kind of transport and electric transport in general? Feel free to leave a comment below. Thanks for reading!

--

--