You are way stronger than you think!

Gautam Doshi
2 min readJun 16, 2017

--

The truth of life is that we, humans, are complex living organisms. Why do you think we are rational creatures that binge on over-thinking? It’s simple: Our brains are way more developed than any other living being we know of (at least).

This is rather inversely proportional to the purity of our souls. By this, I mean that we constantly damage the aura of our souls with thoughts of lack, jealousy, worry, stress and fear. To be completely transparent, I might be experiencing 1 or 2 of those thoughts right at this moment. But I just had a realization that we all, regardless of our background, are way stronger than we think!

The reason I say this is because 10 months ago, I broke my humeral shaft into multiple pieces. Being an enthusiast and regular ‘gym-goer’, this was devastating as all my physical activities came to a standstill. I was progressing and was able to do 40–45 push-ups in one set, for example, which was great progress since 2 to 3 months before that. But now, over 9 months after the break and tedious recovery, after being patient for a long time, I can just do 15–20 push-ups.

This, 7 times out of 10, leads me to take a sad stroll through memory lane. My hand has problems on and off; it hurts some days and some days it doesn’t. But I keep thinking, “Man, I was so strong!”. This applies to EVERY aspect of life. Whenever you do anything, you are MUCH better than you think.

It’s the image/opinion/ways of other’s that we hold against ourselves and find every opportunity to criticize ourselves. What we don’t realize is that we all have been dealt a unique hand that no one else possesses! You are enough, your persistence is enough, you will develop that desire with time, you are strong. What you are not: lacking, ‘weak’, ‘failure’ and/or chasing cars. Find out why you started, what you truly are and go all in and just do it for yourself. Take ownership and be self-accountable and you’re already a winner! Now go, DO!

A bit of honesty whilst signing off with my first post ever : I am struggling in life, not just in the gym or fitness, everyday too, I’m still on 16 push-ups. But all I have to say is that it will improve. I’ll show myself. You must show yourself.

(I’m an international student in the U.S. currently finding my way in the U.S. and the world. I believe in doing good and appreciation)

--

--