Coding Period Week 6(12th July — 19th July )

Saksham Gautam
2 min readJul 19, 2023

--

Goals of this Week-:

  1. Complete testing on Sujeto Videos
  2. Start Working on webpage development

Progress-:

  1. This week started with testing rha with other Sujeto Videos. The problem of high processing time after certain frames in flicker.py is present with all of the videos. I suspect the MTCNN implementation is the cause, as the hider slows after specific frames. So, I began reading the MTCNN repository and discovered an issue related to memory leakage in its current implementation. This could explain the slow processing after certain frames. However, I haven’t confirmed it yet. To investigate further, I decided to divide the 3-minute test videos into two segments, starting the breakdown after the first minute just before where the issue arises.
  2. While surfing online I stumbled upon another method to detect faces, RetinaFace. In the upcoming meeting, I am going to discuss the adoption of RetinaFace in rha. Based on the videos and resources I came across, it seems a more promising option than MTCNN.(See this video).
  3. As I started testing the videos , I noticed that even the performance of the swapper increases for shorter videos. For complete videos, the swapper stops swapping faces after processing certain frames. However, when I divided the same video into two parts and processed them separately, the swapper effectively swapped a larger number of frames.
  4. While testing the hider an unexpected issue occured. As soon as I ran the rha, I got this error: “Disk quota exceeded“ !!
    Actually on hpc server each group has specific quota for memory. All the files that you store in your home directory are stored in that quota. I was monitoring the size of files(rha files and other input files) that I was storing in my home directory. To my surprise, I never imagined that the issue would be related to anaconda. The conda folder in which all the setup files are stored was almost 120 gigs !!! I am still uncertain what might have caused this issue. I had created a same environment on my laptop and it took around 8 gigs only. So I deleted the complete conda folder.
  5. I finally decided to build a singularity container after this. Conda might create this problem again in the future. I am going to list some good resources to learn singularity.
    i. https://singularity-tutorial.github.io/
    ii. Scientific Computing guide by Aalto University, one of the best.
  6. In addition to this I have started working on the web development part. My initial focus is on creating the main page of rha.
  7. Next week I will hopefully complete the testing that I was not able to complete this week.

--

--