GSoC 2018: Week 12— Finishing Up

Gayashan Bombuwala
2 min readJul 29, 2018

--

Hi folks,

I’m back with the 12th episode of my GSoC project. It has been an amazing week for me with a lot new things and I was able to achieve the following goal, during the past week. Following is my contribution for this week.

Since, all the major features were implemented, I focused on other aspects of the project such as performance profiling and documentation.

Performance Profiling in React Native

Performance is a very important aspect in any project. After looking at the Performance Profiling section in the official React Native documentation. I tried to make the Bassa mobile app comply with those guidelines, meanwhile some of them were already implemented in the project. Several changes that I did are,

  • Enable/Disable redux-logger based on the build type( (Dev, Prod).
  • Removal of console.log on production build. This enables to use console.log statements anywhere in the app without worrying about the performance aspect.

Update unit testing coverage

I added new test cases to cover several code changes that were implemented during last week related to downloads management.

I opened a Pull Request with the above changes, which can be viewed at https://github.com/scorelab/Bassa-mobile/pull/12.

Documentation

I started documenting the project work as a GitHub wiki page, since it will be useful for future contributors of the project to understand the development workflow.

The documentation wiki page can be viewed at https://github.com/gayashanbc/Bassa-mobile/wiki/Developer-Guide

Project Demo Video

I also created simple video to demo the work that I completed during the GSoC work period.

Video Disclaimer: I’m terrible at making videos and talking in them. So, pardon me….!

So, that’s pretty much it guys.

Good Bye…

--

--