GSoC 2018: Week 5— Add New Downloads Functionality

Gayashan Bombuwala
2 min readJun 7, 2018

--

Hi folks,

I’m back with the 5th episode of my GSoC project. It has been an amazing week for me with a lot new things and I was able to achieve the following goals, during the past week. Following is my contribution for this week.

Add New Downloads Functionality

Under implementation, the following tasks were completed.

  • Action button implementation to trigger the add new downloads dialog.
  • URL validation when adding a new download.
  • Add new download functionality.
  • Toast notifications, in order to enhance the user experience of the app.

I opened a Pull Request with the above changes, which can be viewed at https://github.com/scorelab/Bassa-mobile/pull/5.

Furthermore, I investigated the issue that I had last week, while I was trying to establish the socket connection between React Native and a Flask Socket.io server.

Yay…

I created a simple NodeJS Socket.io server in order to find out whether the issue was with the React Native Socket.io client. But, the connection worked just fine and I came to the conclusion that the problem was with the Flask Socket.io server. I opened an issue in the Flask Socket.io repository regarding this matter which can be viewed through the following link at https://github.com/miguelgrinberg/Flask-SocketIO/issues/716

I hope, there will be a workaround to overcome this issue.

Also, I found that there is security vulnerability issue in the Bassa’s Socket.io server and I created an issue in their repository in order to report the issue, which can be viewed at the following link, https://github.com/scorelab/Bassa/issues/469

Good Bye…

--

--