How I got into Hack Reactor (Summer 2017) aka My journey to join a coding bootcamp

Garima Batra
7 min readJul 4, 2017

The sob story and motivation

On March 15th, I heard back from one of my last graduate schools that I applied for for Human-Computer Interaction. It was a rejection.

While at first, I was completely devastated, the feedback I got back from the schools was straightforward enough: I simply didn’t have enough work experience to substantiate my interest in a career change (coming from a architecture/sales background). What was my next step? Get a foot in the door, in the quickest way possible.

Insert: Hack Reactor. For the unfamiliar: Hack Reactor is considered one of the premiere coding bootcamps in the world that takes in 3% of its candidates and teaches them how to become full-stack Javascript developers in a sheer three months. Sounds something you would be skeptical of, right? I was in the same shoes, and still am, despite being a day away from joining the July 3rd cohort.

But what made me join the HR family and shell out a fortune? While I haven’t gone through the program yet, my journey to joining Hack Reactor has been fraught with ups and downs but with an eventual epiphany. As an Indian citizen without work eligibility in the US, I wasn’t left with many scholarship options when applying to the plethora of coding bootcamps out…

--

--

Garima Batra

Full-Stack Software Developer Interested in Mission-Driven Start-Ups, Questions? Email me @ gbatra17@gmail.com