“I’m not racist!”

Greg Lund-Chaix
2 min readNov 16, 2016

--

I, Racist deserves far more attention than it’s received. It was written last year, but is as relevant as ever. If you haven’t read it yet, please go do so now: https://thsppl.com/i-racist-538512462265#.xoyzc2xxp

John (who is a brilliant guy I’m delighted to call a friend) eloquently calls out the division between the person and the group, the juxtaposition of “Don’t call me racist! I’m not racist!” while tacitly supporting racism through living in a society steeped in institutionalized racism.

It’s not just race, either. One could easily substitute “sexism” for “racism” for many of the points John makes.

It’s far too easy for a white guy (like me) to not see racism and sexism because we don’t experience it. I can walk through a store and not have the security guard look at me suspiciously. I can apply for a job and not worry a less-qualified man will get it because he’s a better “fit”. I can stand in front of a room to deliver a training and people will not mentally question my expertise simply because of the color of my skin or my apparent gender. I can stand up for myself when wronged without being called “angry” or “bitchy”.

To all you white guys out there: we need to use that unearned privilege and power we derive from being white and male to challenge the injustices of racism and sexism whenever or wherever it happens, but to do that we have to see them first. Get out of our smug “I’m not racist/sexist … some of my best friends are <insert label here>!” world and take that risk. Start thinking about what it would be like if we walked through life with everyone in power around us is negatively pre-judging us, not trusting us before we have the chance to show our value as an individual. Then speak up when those (to us in our comfortable obliviousness) subtle and easy to miss injustices happen around us. Because they do happen right in front of us every single day, if we can just take off our blinders and see them. Speak up immediately — while the participants are still present. Don’t wait and post something on Twitter when you get home. Confront the person on the spot — they may be doing it unintentionally and it’s an important opportunity to educate. Even if the injustice is deliberate unless someone speaks up and opposes the unjust behavior, it will never stop.

--

--

Greg Lund-Chaix

Another propeller-head geek who gets to play with FOSS all day