Design Practice with Sketch

Gwen Dja
2 min readDec 29, 2019

--

So for this exercise number 2 with have to use the software Sketch.

Sketch Software

Sketch is a software created in 2010 -only on macOS- this digital design too is use primarily for UI and UX Design of mobile, web, desktop, and wearables. Sketch is one of the leading for UX/UI designers for UI design. There are other software Figma, Adobe XD, and InVision Studio.

Exercice 2 background

So this exercise is to help me get familiar with UI Design Software Interface. The instructions were to pick an app that I use consistently or one that you like especially and redesigned the app.

So I have chosen Pinterest, an app I use everyday for inspiration, so here 5 screenshot and copies I recreated.

What I have learned

Since I knew the basics of Photoshop, it was easy to understand part of the software. I used the website the nounproject and flaticon for some icons and I had to recreate application buttons.

What has been difficult, to find similar pictures on Pinterest, find a font identical as the original… Also it is important to name and group pages, artboards and layers, I didn’t do it at first but learned to do it in the process.

I’m happy with my work and I need to practice more on sketch.

Thanks for reading and more articles coming soon!

My last article on Design thinking.

--

--