What the Sun Feels Like

Gemma Kay
2 min readApr 14, 2024

Take Vitamin D, they say.

Get a SAD lamp, they say.

Sit by the window.

But it is just so damp, and grey…

I have a craving. And it’s a craving that I want to understand better.

Living in Britain, and experiencing a really wet winter through spring, I am craving the feeling of the sunshine on my skin.

Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

I do not mean this metaphorically.

This is a literal feeling.

I want to feel what the sun feels like.

I want it to feel hot and twinkly on my skin.

And I’ve had this craving for a few weeks, now. I’ve been pregnant twice, and I experienced strong cravings then (one was popping candy, the other was iced drinks).

I am not pregnant now, but I have this strong craving that I can’t shift or ignore.

What does this mean? Why is it happening?

I have, as it happens, been and bought some vitamin D tablets – just to boost things. I have also sat at my patio door when there’s been a slither of sunshine…. But it’s too cold out that I’ve kept the door closed. And what I really want is the feeling.

That feeling you get of such warmth when the sun kisses your skin.

--

--