Photo by Genka Shapkarova

Are you there, sister?

Happy birthday, sister!

Genka Shapkarova
4 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Messaging on Viber: Are you there sister?

waiting a few minutes

Me again: Hey, sis, are you online?

waiting a few seconds

My sister: Here I am! I had a meeting until a while ago, sorry. Is Kostadin ready to go to sleep?

Me: Yes. Are you ready to put him to sleep?

My sister stays with my older son on the phone, via Viber, to put him to sleep when she is not visiting us in Madrid.

Kostadin, my older son: Mom, let’s make the subway.

Me: Ok, Kostadin, let’s do it!

Kostadin: Mom, where is Kostadin?

looks for it

Ah, there it is. Puts a toy he named ‘Kostadin’ in the subway and starts driving it.

Tu -uu — Tuuu

After a while: Mom, I refuse to ride the subway.

Me: Why honey?

He: because he has no passengers to pick up.

Me: Where is aunty? You always drive her. (He also has a toy he named ‘aunty’).

He: I can’t find her. I give up.

Me: Let’s look for her together.

--

--