Photo by Genka Shapkarova

Today is February 14… Valentine’s Day…

Genka Shapkarova
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

Today is February 14, Valentine’s Day.

Who are these valentines? Are they a couple in love? A soul in love with life? A person who’s started to love themselves, little by little? A love for a family that stands inextricably next to us?

Is love just a verb that is trying to replace the verb hate that you have been harboring for a long time? Who knows?

I’m not very good at writing love letters, much less love poems… I write about love when I really feel it, and when I really need it… Well, today I present to you a modest message / poem. Take it however you want.

It’s not that a partner comes first and weighs more on the scale that measures my love for all my loved ones. Even with him, not a day goes by without some disagreement. And yet, we are so much alike. Perhaps, with us, our common characteristics brought us together. I do not know. Perhaps it’s time to stop overthinking. Here is the message:

I know that in your heart there is a lot of pain, but also a lot of happiness.
I know that in your heart lives a suffering soul, but also a fighting spirit.
That in your heart there is bitterness, but also sweetness.
That there are divine actions in your heart, but also diabolical behavior.
I know that your heart is very hurt, but it also experiences quite pleasant moments.
I know your heart is bleeding from being pierced by a poisoned arrow.
But I also believe there is an antidote for it.
I know you’re human first, but will my love be enough to save you?
Save us?
I love you my partner.

--

--