Growth Mindset Is Your Best Friend

Emmanuel TUYISHIMIRE
2 min readMar 11, 2019

--

Since last year, I have applied to become an Andela Fellow on the journey of becoming a word class software developer. we went through a highly competitive selection from understanding the concept of computer science to writing function to solve a particular problem. all those are provided in Andela home curriculum study.

The excitement I had when I received an email says “You are welcome to Andela Bootcamp KGL/04” which is the last the last stage to join Andela fellowship.

Before attending the boot camp we have received an email that explains what we will be building during the 2 weeks of simulated boot camp. the challenge was to build EPIC Mail a web app to help people exchange information through the internet.

The Challenge

We have to work on the Front-End without any Framework, but with HTML, CSS and Back_End with Node.js and Express. the challenge was that I was new to JavaScript and we must build a full stack app.

The Growth on Becoming JavaScript Developer

As we all used to say at some point that we are not good at something either math or writing. This ring to my head that I can’t build a full stack app at this time and am not good at JavaScript.

When I was reading Andela boot camp curriculum I find a value Growth Mindset, I started doing research on growth mindset.

This how I embrace the challenge

During my research, I came across to this statement that says “ We only have to acknowledge that our potential to learn is unbounded and that the power to increase our own abilities is within our control.”http://www.metalearn.net

1. I identified what I already knew to match them with the project requirement

2. I have to get out of my comfort zone

3. Seek help to my colleagues who are good at JavaScript

When I approached the project with the statement above I started seeing difficulty as an opportunity to learn and grow rather than trying to avoid it. what hindered me to pursuit my careers were the mindset, and I realize that mindset is fundamental and it has a huge impact on a different part of our life such as careers or relationships.

As I conclude when you are learning how to code or anything which requires to practice you have to make more practice to become good in it, So Growth Mindset doesn’t come once for all I have to practice in any fields of my life

The boot camp continues we are on day one of it, the journey continues for becoming a world-class developer and testing how am I implementing a growth mindset.

Thank you for reading this, if you find helpful Hit the applause button and share it

--

--

Emmanuel TUYISHIMIRE

Live To Please God. Software Developer| Tech Blogger| Photographer. Be More by Owning Less