From Darkness to Light: Drumming Up the Sun

Rebecca Miller
13 min readDec 24, 2022

It’s Christmas Eve eve, and I just finished writing a letter to my first-degree relatives. Normally, I submit a rather rushed and slightly drunken missive about the adventures of the year, but this year, I decided to do something different. I decided to share a profound experience that was deeply moving, healing, and restorative all at once.

Usually, this involves a whiskey tasting and some bagpipes. This time I sat on the cold, concrete stairs at Red Rocks Amphitheater in Morrison, Colorado drumming up the sun with a lively group of heathens that I’d…

--

--

Rebecca Miller

Gen-X QUEEN in the Copywriting Scene! I’m a former hospice nurse and forever autism mom passionate about writing, skiing, jazz, and travel.