Take a Deep Breath

Show your lungs some love in the time of COVID-19

Georgeann Sack
5 min readMar 26, 2020
Modified from CSA Images, “Anatomy of Veins and Arteries”

A month ago I had major surgery. In the weeks leading up to it I had panic attack level anxiety. Thanks to a recent post by Ben L. Callif, I found relief with Wim Hof breathing.

Now that I have recovered I find myself in a new world. People everywhere are isolated and afraid. What we fear is viral pneumonia that has no cure. We could all use some relief from anxiety right now. And we could all benefit from a simple exercise to improve lung health.

Our lungs have far greater capacity than we typically use, and that is easy to feel for yourself. With daily effort, you will increase the strength and efficiency of your lungs, and that can only be a good thing. Read on to learn the basics and the benefits of deep breathing.

The Basics

What I want to discuss in more detail here is how to take a deep breath. It sounds simple, but taking a deep breath requires mindful effort and muscular strength. Once you know these basics, you can choose your own adventure from the various types of breathwork others have pioneered, or come up with your own practice. Personally, I like to keep it simple, practicing deep breathing during yoga or meditation.

  1. To begin, lie down or sit up straight in a comfortable spot…

--

--