Regain Control of Yourself With These 2 Life-Changing Adjustments & A New Habit

Would you like yourself, if you met yourself?

George Kathele
3 min read4 days ago
Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

Shed off that old skin and start again if need be.

We've all been in situations where we felt out of control. But when it all goes wrong, you can't find the cause. You can't see the obstacle in your way.

What do you do when you are in such a situation? Do you ask for help, give up, slow down the pace, or start it all over again?

In my case, I suffered for a while because I couldn't do most of the tasks I had set myself up for. I had no idea what the problem was, but then I realized I needed to drop everything and restart.

I'll tell you how I did it, but first, we must note that we are all responsible for ourselves and our impact on this planet. So, we must face life's challenges and adapt. We must catch the bull by its horns.

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” — Seneca

Change Your Identity

Names are always associated with our identity.

If a name links to your old self and habits, change it.

Depending on which name commemorates your new identity, you can go by a nickname or an official name.

For the last 16 years, people have referred to me by a nickname. However, I associate this nickname with many misfits and bad habits from my teen years. As a result, I've decided to drop the name and start with a new identity. I'm going by my official name and have also changed my social tags to the same.

Authenticity means erasing the gap between what you firmly believe inside and what you reveal to the outside world. — Adam Grant.

You must adjust your name. It should reflect your true self and new habits.

Change Your Space

Environment plays a vital role in shaping our habits.

We are all aware of the environment's role in shaping our habits. We shape our environment by interacting with people.

I had to change cities to amplify my new habits and identity. I moved to a coastal island in my country. All this was to regain control of my life, which was way out the window. So far, so good.

Spaces adapt to your evolving habits and mirror your new identity. You can complete most daily tasks and form new habits with few distractions.

You will take charge of your life.

The New Habit

One of the most essential habits to embrace in life to regain control of yourself is silence.

Silence is the new status symbol.

Always take 15 minutes daily to be silent and channel your inner self.

Seek divine guidance through sacred ritual. Some call it prayer, and some call it meditation. In such an instance, ask for help and guidance in navigating the murky waters.

In silence, you'll seek clarity and connect with your intuition. Eventually, you'll regain control of yourself.

As writers, we need to embrace this proven habit to tap into original ideas.

To Conclude

Change your identity and spaces to start over. Seek clarity and regain control of your life.

You'll tick off most of your daily to-do lists. You won't have your old "destructive" friends to hold you back.

I've decided to start my writing career and go all in. I've adopted a new persona to engage my audience and rise to prominence as a writer.

This will happen through the two changes in the article and the new, life-changing habit.

Don't leave yet; I need your help.

1. Comment and share your insights on this piece.

2. Keep those claps coming in.

3. Follow for a follow-back.

P.S. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Ciao, ciao!

--

--

George Kathele

Digital Writer. Writing 100 Medium Articles by December 2024. Follow my Writing Journey for Inspiration to Join the Online Creator Economy. Carpe Diem.