Introducing Teal

George Matus
3 min readJul 20, 2016

--

I guess you could say I’m obsessed with flight. You know how some kids go through a phase where they spend nights building model airplanes, intently tracking jets overhead and helicopters as they fly by and dreaming of pulling Gs and doing barrel rolls? I took that a bit further.

I’ve been flying drones since I was 11 and built my first one from scratch at age 14. I’m 18 now, but when my family moved to Utah seven years ago, I looked out at the open field of grass that butts up to the woods behind my house and immediately saw myself doing flips, rolls and dives while guiding an aircraft across the sky above.

That’s what led to today and the launch of Teal. We’re a company that builds drones, but we want to do so much more than that. We’re going to plaster smiles on people’s faces by selling them the world’s fastest production drone. We’re changing what drones can be, transforming them from just a gadget into something that helps us do our work more easily and live our lives better. We think drones are the next great computing platform, and we’re opening up endless possibilities as we put a community of developers to work building software for them.

Teal is also the realization of a dream.

A Teal in a rare still moment

Since I flew my first drone in the field behind my house, I’ve been keeping a list of dream features I want in a drone. Teal is that dream come to life. It’s more than a flying camera or a super-fast racer. It can fly over 70 mph, withstand 40 mph winds, it’s built to run as many apps as you can think of. It has a supercomputer onboard that lets it do things that no other drone can do. Other features include:

  • Modes for complete beginners all the way to hardcore racers
  • Three built-in apps: command and control, follow-me mode, and racing and gaming
  • Control from a smartphone, tablet or hobby controller
  • Teal OS, a software platform that lets anyone build amazing apps around it
  • Fast processors that move data like never before, on board the drone
  • Teal is made in the USA

We also want to be a new kind of drone company. Drone pilots are an incredibly passionate group of people — I know this, I’m one of them. Flying is my passion. It’s what I do, it’s in my blood. It has always been weird to me that companies that make drones don’t reflect that same kind of passion. Just take a look at some of the major drone manufacturer’s websites. They’re sterile and they reflect cold technology and capabilities, but nothing deeper.

It comes out in the product too. Today’s drones lack the design, processing and underlying operating system to support a fully evolved platform or to inspire the imaginations of developers to realize their dreams. Where’s the fun, the passion and the community?

Teal is a different kind of company. We’re committed from day one to being a company people love. One that directly relates to our customers, delivers on our promises, and creates a strong connection with the people who buy our drone, be it hobbyists, photographers, racers, developers or people who are just plain obsessed with flight like I am.

I don’t want to spend a ton of time here listing out the technical specifics of our drone (though you can see them here), but I do guarantee that you’ll love it. We’re building the future of drones and we’re incredibly excited to share it with you. Feel free to check out our website and watch the video below … then go pre-order one for $1,299 right here. When you order, we’ll authorize your card for the purchase, but won’t charge you until it ships.

The first 500 people to purchase will be part of our Signature Series and receive a special edition drone with a custom design and inscription, and a free Endurance Package that doubles the drone’s battery life. You’ll also get your drone in time for Christmas. If you don’t make it into the Signature Series, you can still get a free Endurance Package if you order before August 15th.

We’ve spent a ton of time creating and flying the Teal, and we hope you love flying it as much as we do.

--

--