To Impeach or to Not Impeach — That is the Question.

Geraldine Sebastian
3 min readOct 3, 2019

--

“I’m hoping to get the Trump train back on the tracks and I’m pretty sure we can…” — Tomi Lahren, a jarring statement, I know.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bW3LzQx_CU

But for the last 24 hours I have immersed myself in news that was well, not my cup of tea. Specifically, news that had to do with President Trump and his current impeachment drama, and it was an insightful ride.

As someone who identifies with the left, media outlets that I retain my news from are more often than not, very liberal. So, I decided to switch out the news outlets that I would refer to such as CNN and VOX for news outlets such as FOX News, the Daily Wire, and the New York Post. With this selection of news outlets, I tuned into news surrounding President Trump and the current impeachment inquiry against him. This inquiry has been made as a call between Trump and the president of Ukraine involving potential private dealings came to light through a “whistleblower”. I place quotation marks around the term as many of the articles I have read used the term negatively. I believe however that the use of the word is necessary when an elected official commit acts capable of being impeached.

Amidst all this impeachment noise, republicans weren’t happy (but when are they ever when Trump is being “targeted”). According to the news sources that I have been keeping up with, this impeachment scandal is just another bump in the road, similar to previous impeachment attempts. From the right’s perspective it seems as though the Dems are just looking for any chance/opportunity to impeach the president considering previous occurrences. As though the left is crying impeachment like the boy cried wolf. Ultimately, I think right is negating the severity of Trump’s illegal dealings with the Ukrainian president, as he has gotten off clean before with previous impeachment scandals.

Upon further review during this updated media diet, many of the news outlets criticizing the impeachment inquiry seemed to be critical of interesting things. News outlets such as the New York Post criticized the credibility of Adam Schiff, an Intelligence Committee Chairman elected to spearhead the investigation and impeachment of Trump. Claiming that he is incompetent and outrageous in his delivery. Outrageous you say… Sounds familiar. Nevertheless, many of these news outlets are doing a lot of finger pointing, diverting from the real matter at hand which is Trump’s actions.

https://aminoapps.com/c/marvel/page/blog/when-you-dress-up-as-spiderman-for-halloween-and-your-friend-does-the-same/3WWJ_JW0fBugzr6QXk7WwNlwxbZZGr5VN60

Though initially frustrating and mind boggling, reviewing the current events especially towards Trump from a different perspective was intriguing. It allowed me the opportunity to get into the minds of those who fall on the right and to uncover what and how they feel about this situation. Ultimately, making me more knowledgeable and better equipped to speak on topics such as the Trump impeachment scandal as I now know some of the burning beliefs of the Republicans. Through this exercise, I feel as though I can play my own devils advocate to help strengthen my points in discussion.

--

--