Geraldine Le Meur
2 min readMay 8, 2017

Social Media Pressure

“The pressure to look a certain way on social media can do much more than distort our image of the musicians other people actually listen to.”

This is obviously true.

What we see, what we genuinely share is a cropped picture of life. It is not a Facebook phenomena. I believe it’s tied to our new patterns and behaviors in consuming and sharing private or public information.

Even sometimes, when you decide not to share, protect some intimacy for what you care about, you need to be prepared to get unexpected reactions around you. There you feel the pressure with unintended consequences. As if, what you are not exposing online is worthless, not important, denied…

“Love me or hate me, both are in my favour. If you love me, I’ll always be in your heart… If you hate me, I’ll always be in your mind.” ― William Shakespeare

Social media exacerbate egos, feelings, reactions. It’s very difficult to find the right dose. It’s like make-up, put too much on your face and you get the reverse effect: not nice, not natural, a distorted you…

Geraldine Le Meur

Entrepreneur | Investor | Board Member |Founding Partner The Refiners | San Francisco