Meta Mortality: Ideas of Immortality

Part 7 of the Theory of Emanism series

Germane Marvel
4 min readAug 27, 2019
By Robert Montgomery

Here I’d like to separate ideas as ways of overstanding the world, as ways of getting to know our entire invironment, especially the more mental and physical aspects. As we saw in our story of Zah, from a perspective outside time and space spacetime, found in the dimension of existence. Existentially speaking ideas are seen as ‘idears’.

Idears don’t die. They’re never really born. When lensed over time they transform. They may seem to die but they are only buried in part. Partly lost. Partly forgotten.

An idear is in a super position, of being buried and being revealed, it’s closer to the balance between being-and-not-being than an idea. It’s all a matter of probabilities. What’s the probability this idea (this part of this particular idear) being uncovered or hidden at this particular point in time and space in relation to all the other probabilities in all other places in space and time.

This is why ideas appear to be/are found and lost and changed continuously. This is also why ideas are everywhere. Why they’ve become the only way a human can think, reason and cognise. This is also why some ideas are easier to describe than others. Ideas live on far longer than humans do. Then again every human is an idea too.

Remember I’m defining an idea as a way of understanding something. On some level I’m a bunch of atoms and molecules organised with several processes keeping me structurally together. On some level I’m packets of energy organised together according to chance.

On some levels I’m stardust, and part of the earth. On more levels I’m not this human idea that’s called Germane Marvel. That’s the name associated to this part of the invironment that my goest articulates. I’m a mirage, I’m not as I appear bro, here to make both a difference and dinero.

To illustrate this I’m a different idea to each of you. Some will love me, some will hate me and everyone else will fall on a spectrum in between, including those that ignore me. No-one (including myself) sees the fullest, most accurate depiction of me, from outside of space and time. I’m quite forgetful at times, and I’m not always good at being human.

I have an intuition the same goes for all of us. I mostly myself and others through a limited, mortal, material, lens bound within spacetime perspectives, or what I’ll call the ends. Yes I am immortal, immaterial, energetic idears. Yes I am mortal, material, fleshy, ideas. I am both and neither, and something beyond that escapes description.

Being both can be a struggle at times. The conflict, the ambivalence, the cognitive and emotional dissonance. Especially as I’ve come to rely upon ideas as our way to understand existence, which is ‘outside’ of and a’ ‘container of’ spacetime.

I recognise that I don’t die as an idear, and so I have difficultly dealing with the feelings that come with the concept of dying, as an idea. It’s natural. A little complimentary dissonance between the mental and the emotional. Within it I can find patterned harmony. That’s why sometimes an idea, that’s the same at its core, can look different at different spacetimes, different place-moments. When lensed from different ends.

At any one (space)time the probability is never the same from that one timespace place-moment to the next. Even when the probability is the same, the idear is sensed from a particular place-moment, herenow, ends. This means different parts of the whole idear will be revealed in any one ends.

The idear being something never fully apparent to us, in its entirety, at one point in time and space. And yet every idear (and idea) is a possibility at each point in time and space still. So I can’t simply kill an idea, even if humans went extinct. Even if humans are the only thing in an infinite universe that have and hold ideas.

The idear would lay as a latent possibility until the universe is spread evenly, until it knows itself completely. In billions of years time, when the conditions are similar to a singularity and what appears to us as a Big Bang. We almost all has come apart and been forgotten. The idea will wait until the next time there’s a population of complex enough sentient beings to remember.

This is important because in the culture I live in death has become final. We’ve forgotten that only nothing ends and so we’ve forgotten that death is simply a transition. I depend upon rememberance. It holds me together like no other force. Traditions, knowledge, language all exist because of remembrance processes. Family, friendship, partnership all rely upon balanced holistic remembrance.

I often forget that we are ideas to ourselves, and each other. The concepts of a human, of humanity, are notions I use to understand myself and my reality. I live and learn through an anthropocentric, human centred, lens, it’s easy to forget that everything I know, everything I experience, including myself are ideas of idears.

--

--