DIARY OF A ‘LOCKED DOWN’ MOTHER (3)

Get It Together NG
3 min readApr 6, 2020

By Oris Ikiddeh

IN THE WAKE OF COVID-19 IN ABUJA, NIGERIA’S FEDERAL CAPITAL CITY

TOTAL ‘LOCK DOWN’ — PART THREE

Sunday 29 March, 7.00p.m. GMT

“Fellow Nigerians,

From the first signs that Corona virus, or COVID-19 was turning into an epidemic and was officially declared a world-wide emergency, the Federal Government started planning preventive, containment and curative measures in the event the disease hits Nigeria….”

“As we are all aware, Lagos and Abuja have the majority of confirmed cases in Nigeria… Based on the advice of the Federal Ministry of Health and the NCDC, I am directing the cessation of all movements in Lagos and the FCT for an initial period of 14 days with effect from 11p.m on Monday 30th March 2020…”

As the voice of President Muhammadu Buhari, GCON, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria shot through the airwaves, Nigerians listened attentively all over the country, my family inclusive. We listened with keen interest and apprehension, not sure what this would mean.

Suddenly, my husband jumped up from his seat “I need to buy fuel now, now!!” he said. He ran to the room, picked up his car key, got two containers for buying fuel for the generator. I stood confused. “Nne, check your list, you need to quickly go now and buy anything more you need now, quickly”, he further said. I ran to the room, grabbed my purse and off we drove to the supermarket around the house and gas (fuel) station. My brother and his family who came to visit also raced out with us to get Vitamin C and other things they will need. My mind was racing. Everything was confusing. What does this all mean. What does it mean to be ‘locked down’?

There were so many people already at the shop. I discovered while at the supermarket that somehow, information had gone out even before the announcement of a possible ‘lock down’ of the country.

Hmmm…do I say it is the right step in the right direction? I think it is, but some serious thoughts went through my mind: What does this mean for families, especially those that survive on what they make every daily? What does this mean for families with children, children who will just be locked up at home in the same spot all day for two weeks? What does this mean for the nation and its economy? There were no answers, my questions echoed back to me.

I see on my TV market women, artisans, cab drivers and other daily paid workers already lamenting. I see fear in people’s eyes. “How will they survive for two weeks without any income, how?” All I can say is let’s keep hope alive. As long as there is life, there is hope. If you think deeply inside of you, you will remember that friend, that neighbour or that relation that needs you. It will be good to send them some money no matter how small at this time.

Back to my shopping. Did I get all I went to buy in the supermarket? I got more tissue rolls, more beverages, washing soap, cooking oil, biscuits, did you get all you rushed out that day to get? I think I did but for one — dispenser water. Suddenly everyone wanted to get ten bottles of dispenser water all at once. It has become an essential commodity. Ahhh… should I call this panic buying?

The realities of life. One day it’s all bliss and the next it’s all blurry and confusing.

When we got home, the children were playing and laughing, completely oblivious of the world about to change around them, they were like a centre of calm in all the frenzy around me. “Oh Lord give me this kind of childlike faith and peace” I prayed.

How did this announcement go in your house and your vicinity? Did you act like my husband and I?

Let’s keep talking. In Part Four, I will share with you, my experience on the first day of the ‘lock down’ at home in our little space.

REMEMBER, SOCIAL DISTANCING AND STAYING INDOOR REMAINS THE ONLY PREVENTIVE MEASURE AGAINST COVID-19

PS: You can read the part one and two here and here respectively.

--

--

Get It Together NG

Working towards a Nigeria where the uptake of family planning/childbirth spacing methods is a social norm.