Help my son has female clothings!

Gin Kim
2 min readMar 19, 2021

This is a post for parents. So you discovered that your son is stashing away female clothing in his room or some corner of the house. First of all, don’t panic.

Now let’s talk about why he does that which is the top of your mind now.

1) He wish to transit into a girl

I’ll start off with the so call “worst-case” by societal norm standard. Your son could be having gender dysphoria. He may or may not wish to transit physically into a girl. He may not even know whether he has such desire. It depends on which age he is. If teen and preteen, most likely he is still figuring out himself. I’m not an expert in this, so there is little advice I can give. My own take is this. If you, as parent, wishes your son to be happy, does it matter if he becomes a she? He will still be your child.

2) Sexual Fetish

This could be a common reason. He has some fetish with female clothing. As long as he is not stealing from others, you shouldn’t be too concerned. However as with any fetish, it is not good to be overly indulge in it. Again, I’m not an expert in this. I’m not even sure whether a psychologist will help at this stage.

3) He is a cross dresser

Ok so he likes to wear female clothings. This could be confusing with point number 2 listed above. If he likes to wear female clothings, is it a fetish? It’s true that it might be a difficult line to draw. Some crossdresser started out as fetish then move on to be just a crossdresser. For my case, why do I like female clothings? Because they look pretty and I want to wear pretty clothings. It is that simple.

In this case, you can take a breather. While I don’t have actual statistics, from anecdotal evidence, I find most crossdresser I chat with heterosexual male. Most are married and even have kids. In fact most of them are so straight that they adore female so much so that they crossdress. An oxymoronic statement I must say. But there is some truth in it.

What’s next?

Talk. Talk to your son. Bear in mind that if today it is your daughter who is found with a “male” shirt and pants, would she be getting that level of attention or worry? Probably not. So what makes son so different? In a way our mind is shaped tightly by societal norm. I have written quite a fair bit on that and shan’t elaborate here. In short, why can’t male wear feminine clothing?

Since he is hiding it from you, he must have felt terrible too. Assure him that it is ok. Understand his motivation. Many a times, he will turn out just fine. If you can be more accommodative to him. Give him some space. Set boundary for him. Boundaries like, don’t commit crime (I.e. stealing bras), don’t be promiscuous and so on. At least I think I’m a crossdresser that turns out fine. Your son will be too.

--

--