MHA Theory

Grace Katherine
2 min readMay 22, 2022

--

So, this is off topic to my usual, but I just finished watching the 100th episode of the My Hero Academia anime. I’m only giving you one last spoiler warning in case you’ve managed to avoid the identity of the UA traitor so far.

If you’re still here, you either know the story or you’re just like me and don’t give a heck about spoilers.

Anyways, in episode 100, Shinso is told he’ll get to be in the hero course next year. I was so excited, actually bouncing in my seat, but we’re not told which class he’ll get to be in.

I assume that someone will have to leave to make room for him, just like he said in the Sports Festival. So, while they could throw out one of the minor characters and stick him in B, I think and kind of hope, that he’ll end up in Class A.

Since Aoyama is revealed as the traitor and his quirk is actually destroying his body, it would only be a danger to himself and the others to keep him in the hero course. They’d still have to keep him at UA to keep him safe from the villains, but he’d move to Class C, where Shinso was.

I’m going off topic again but having Aoyama as the traitor was kind of genius. The four suggestions I’d heard the most were Kaminari, Mic, Uraraka, and Hagakure.

I feel like the main reason for the first three, since they’re all such fan favorites, would be shock value. A plot twist riding almost completely on shock would fade over time and never live up to its potential.

Meanwhile, while I and many others love Hagakure, she’s just not enough of a main character for us to feel enough shock. Shock value should not be your main reason, but it’s still a useful tool. They could have done something interesting with villain Hagakure, but I’m kind of glad they didn’t.

But with Aoyama, he’s enough of a main character, giving just enough shock without riding on it too much. And, throughout the series, he’s waved his own suspiciousness in everyone’s faces. It’s like he’s trying to draw their attention to something without telling them.

In short, Aoyama as the traitor is great. It doesn’t feel as cheap as some of the other options. And I think Shinso will take his spot in the hero course, but they’ll still forgive Aoyama and still be friends with him. They will keep him safe from All For One.

--

--

Grace Katherine

I’m a young woman, aspiring author, just looking for some practice.