“Flying with Broken Wings”

Maryam Ghadiri
1 min readDec 14, 2022
The photo belongs to the march in SF for supporting the revolution happening in Iran.

“Flying with Broken Wings”
Every day when the day starts and the fog is gone I open my broken wings to fly again.
I am not afraid of falling, I am not afraid of failing, I am not afraid of the tall walls of the cage anymore when I dream of freedom.

My dream is to fly high
My dream is to touch the sky
My dream is to stay faithful in fighting for my rights to see the sky and sunshine and fly beyond the limited walls of the cage I was born in.

That day will come soon, till then we continue to fly even with our broken wings.

P.S. This poem is dedicated to all Iranian freedom fighters, esp. millennials, generation z, and youth who were born during the oppressive regime ruling the country. And these days, they show up every day, fearless, brave, and strong. We see you; we admire your bravery, and we stand in solidarity with you.

--

--

Maryam Ghadiri

I am a researcher, licensed life coach, and storyteller. I love writing stories and helping people find their stories. I believe we matter so do our stories.