Lost In Rome: A Love Letter In Black & White

Black & White Street Photography from Rome

G Dondlinger
3 min readSep 26, 2019
View From the Palatine. Rome 2019. All photos © the author

There is a thing to be said about visiting a city repeatedly. On the first, and maybe the second visit, you tick all the boxes: you visit all the sights and explore all the features that the city has to offer. When in Rome: you visit the Colosseum, Forum Romanum, Vatican, Villa Borghese and the countless other museums and palazzos and not to forget the churches, the innumerable churches; you wine and dine in Trastevere and you hang out by the Spanish Steps.

Then you go back for more visits, and you find yourself with time on your hands. So you walk about different neighbourhoods, you get lost here and there and end up in new places which no guidebook has pointed you towards. That’s when you really discover a city.

Rome features glorious colours, and especially during the golden hour, you can find yourself wandering around in a CinemaScope movie (and worth a photo set of its own). But Rome is also black and white, shadows and shades of grey, and because this reflects more, for me, my “own private Rome”, here is is a set of black and white photos which I took during my last trip there this September. I love Rome, and each time I visit the city, I find new places and new reasons to love it; and this is my love letter to the Città Eterna.

--

--

G Dondlinger

I explore cities, I take photos. Of people, mostly, and places, sometimes. Making my home in Berlin. View my website at http://www.gheedon.com