I Was Fired…at 8 Months Pregnant

Ghia Smith
My Favorite Group Project
7 min readJul 3, 2023

MFGP Series: Episode #1 (Pilot)

Image edited w/ Canva

I’ve waited for some time to address this. I have so much to say, but I want to be sure that I’m covering all angles and expressing my experience based on the facts and not solely on emotion (though, if you can imagine, one cannot simply remove the emotion from a story like this).

Working Hard

Let’s start from the beginning, shall we? My partner is such a great support system when it comes to building my career as a writer. We met in the service industry. He was a sous chef, and I was a server/host at an Irish pub. He’s always known my passion for writing, so he wanted to create an environment where I’d excel.

He told me to quit my job, and focus on building my portfolio and resume for writing. I was very hesitant at first. Imposter syndrome really weighs heavy some days. However, I was able to land an interview at an agency in the city. It was small but I was thrilled to have the opportunity.

At first glance, I imagined myself working there long term. I loved every bit of it. It all looked so sweet. But sometimes, the sweet smell and smooth texture of a fruit can disguise a rotting core.

Photo by Hannah Wei on Unsplash

There seemed to be a good company culture, with lots of team bonding and happy hours. It was honestly great. We moved to a new building. I became head of the culture committee, and I was starting to step up for my content team in terms of becoming more involved with the other departments.

“I don’t even know what you guys do on a daily basis”

That should have been a major red flag. But I took it as an opportunity to prove that we can do more than just mindlessly write blogs all day. We can help with social media, we can look at data, we can educate ourselves to foster growth within our department. And it was great…while it lasted.

…Or Hardly Working?

Around June of 2022, I ended up using almost all of my sick days. I didn’t know what the issue was. I just knew I felt like actual shit. I was riddled with fatigue, headaches, and motion sickness. Riding in the car felt like torture, just as sitting at my desk did. I felt like I was constantly rocking on a boat. I found out I was pregnant two weeks later.

This changed everything for me.

Being my first pregnancy, I had no idea what was going to happen to me emotionally, mentally, or physically. I mean, I had an idea, but it really hit me in the first trimester. During this time, I began missing deadlines, my work quality was slipping, and I felt overworked.

We had lost three people in my department by this time so there was only three of us left to still execute the same amount of assignments and more. I was constantly pulled into other projects, and I sucked at prioritizing. The brain fog was real. I was able to work from home for part of the week, but here comes red flag number two:

“It would really mean a lot to everyone if you could show up on your WFH days.”

What? I thought the purpose of those days were…self-explanatory.

From that point on, I was constantly told that I wasn’t showing up enough by a supervisor. This coworker and I began bumping heads…constantly. I felt like I was never doing enough, even though I was quite literally doing what I was paid to do. Her mean girl energy started to over-shine her cloak of positivity. True colors were showing, and I wasn’t having it.

I made it clear to the big bosses that I was having issues with this person. I was told:

“We’ll handle it. This is unacceptable.”

Red flag number three.

Over the next few weeks, nothing was being done, and the disrespectful reprimanding in front of whole departments (and via Slack) was getting out of hand. With everything coming to a head, I didn’t feel secure in my position. I definitely knew that I wouldn’t even be considered for a raise. So what did I do? I started freelancing again. And boy did things take a turn.

Cause and Effect

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

As most people do, I updated my LinkedIn profile with my new contract position. It helps me to keep track of my work history. I hadn’t even started on anything for this project (and I didn’t get my first projects from them until a month or so later). This unfortunately, led to my demise.

Over the holiday break, everyone was remote. Things boiled over once the supervisor I was having issues with started wailing on me in a meeting with two deparments present. Not only was it humiliating, it was an attempted show of power. She belittled me, she made me feel as small as a tick on a whale.

I was pissed.

I exited the zoom call and immediately called one of the big bosses. He said he understood why I left the meeting and reassured me that something would be done about this situation.

Following this altercation, I encountered another issue with the other big boss. I emailed everyone to let them know that I had to start attending doctors appointments weekly as I was in the third trimester by then. I was subsequently told that I didn’t have enough PTO.

My appointments were not optional at this point. They were mandatory. I insisted that I’d go unpaid, and seeing that I’d get to the office an hour to an hour and a half before my shift started, I figured I’d be alright (as my 40 hours were still being met).

I was wrong.

One of the big bosses proceeded to say it was distasteful to mention that I’m always early to the office, as he never throws it in my face that he’s allowed me to work from home on a hybrid schedule. This pissed me off for two reasons:

  1. I didn’t feel appreciated. It’s “distasteful”? Wild.
  2. It was thrown up in my face almost daily that I “should appreciate the fact that I’m allowed to work from home” or “I know you’re pregnant but this is still a job,” as to dismiss any other accommodations.

Shortly after, I was told that everything would be addressed once we return to the office.

We returned to the office. I was fired at the end of the day.

My Takeaways

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

“This shit sucks!”

That’s the only way to describe the feeling. Now, I know what you’re thinking because I’ve said the same things to myself.

“Take accountability.”

“You’re the reason you were fired.”

“You should have done better.”

I know.

I also know a toxic work environment when I see one.

I’m able to feel all of the things, accept accountability, and reflect on all of the red flags. That’s how I knew that I was ready to share this experience. What are some of my grievances? Here’s a list:

  1. The person that fired me, quit 2 weeks later. WTF.
  2. All of my access was revoked in less that 24 hours (even though I was reassured I’d have at least 24 hours to back up my personal files and such). Coincidence that all of my “receipts” of my experience were deleted? We’ll never know I guess.
  3. I was never given my COBRA packet, even though I’d reached out on several instances to retrieve it.
  4. I never received unemployment because it was pending a response on the employer side (which I also reached out about).
  5. I had nothing to add to my portfolio, as my email (which was attached to my Google Drive) was deleted immediately.
  6. I had nothing saved. I was dependent on my maternity leave plan, which I’d just finished drafting and sent over for review. I mean, I had a baby fund that pulled out like $60 every check for the nursery and stuff, but what a slap in the face.

Elevating My Experience

There’s more that I could list, but I’ll just leave it here. I’ve learned so much from this experience. The first being that I don’t think agency life is for me. It’s just not practical for family-oriented individuals. There’s no work-life balance.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

The second lesson learned, which my mentor pointed out last week, was that you must back up EVERYTHING. You don’t want to be in a situation where you’ve worked your ass off and are forced to walk away with nothing. It’s. Not. Fun.

And lastly, I’ve just learned to shift my mindset. I could take this loss really hard, but instead, I’m using it as leverage. I know that I’m more than capable, and this minor setback is only creating space for a major comeback. I reflect on it often. Daily, even. But my goal is to leave it in the past.

Somewhat of an awkward ending, but that’s all folks. I’m constantly learning to elevate and grow. It’s essential as a new parent; and as a human.

Give me a follow on Instagram, subscribe to my YouTube Channel, and subscribe to my newsletter for updates on upcoming content.

Have an Interesting story, interview, or topic you’d like me to talk about?

Let Me Know!

--

--

Ghia Smith
My Favorite Group Project

Yes. Your mother was right about me. Writer & editor for My Favorite Group Project on Medium.