The Twitter Cycle

Sam Ghobril
2 min readMay 2, 2016

--

Two months ago I deleted Twitter from my phone. One month ago I installed it again. Last week it was off my phone. Today, it’s back on. Every time I switch, I feel like I’m making the right decision. Here’s what’s going through my head.

Twitter off my phone:

Phew. Now I can be productive again. I’ll go through my Pocket list when I feel the urge to read something. Or just simply do nothing and be present in the world around me. Yeah, that sounds good. Ahh.

I kinda want to promote that journaling app I’m making. Well, I could just post from my Mac every now and then. That’s not so bad.

Am I posting too many links? Should I mix that up with some things I’m doing on a daily bases. Songs I’m listening to, things I see, small thoughts I have. I could use Buffer.

Did someone reply to any of my tweets? Let me open up twitter.com in Safari for a second.

Maybe I should interact with other people too. Yeah, I could do that from the website as well.

Kinda bored. Well, tap on Safari, then on Twitter from the “frequently visited” section.

I’m basically just using Twitter from Safari now, just as I was from the app. Might as well download it again.

Twitter on my phone:

Yeah, much better. I can control myself now anyway.

Shit, there’s Twitter Moments here. Meh, I don’t care about that news anyway. I won’t be using it.

Donald Trump did what?!

Ugh, why do I keep refreshing Twitter? Just wait 30 minutes, Samir, and then you’ll have plenty more tweets to read through.

Okay, fuck this, I don’t really need a presence on social media. I just need to make stuff. I’m deleting this shit.

--

--