25 Inspiring Quotes by Strong Black Women

Cheryl Brown
3 min readMar 21, 2019
Photo: Clarke Sanders via Unsplash

March is Women’s History Month. It was established to celebrate the critical role of women in our nation’s history.

Even though some won’t admit it, women are the backbone and the glue that hold this country together.

With that said, collectively, we are a force to be reckoned with. But individually, we all have days when we need a little help.

On those days, I call on my Black Girl Magic and gain strength and inspiration from the words of some remarkable women!

Here are some of my favorites.

Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.

–Harriet Tubman

I did what my conscience told me to do, and you can’t fail if you do that.

–Anita Hill

No matter what accomplishments you make, somebody helped you.

–Althea Gibson

It’s not the load that breaks you down; it’s the way you carry it.

–Lena Horne

I get angry about things, then go on and work.

–Toni Morrison

When I dare to be powerful — to use my strength in…

--

--

Cheryl Brown

I’m a content strategist and SEO copywriter who is an avid student of Black history, a political news junkie, and a wannabe chef that loves to cook.