Why I stay up late writing, and why you should too!

What My Mother Doesn’t Know Won’t Kill Her

Giana
2 min readAug 26, 2022

A confession to when I’ve found the time to write. It’s not during the day so that means it’s been at night

In My Mother Eyes

Oh, my Dear Mother… to my mother, it seems I’ve fallen back into the same old patterns, the same routines. You might be asking, the same routines from when? From when I was depressed, that’s when. I would fall asleep late into the night and sleep in late into the day. Her eyes perceive her, however, sure I may be doing these things but it’s not for the reason she believes.

Good habits

I know it might seem detrimental for any reason, to be staying up hours into the night but for writing, I think we should make an exception. I’ve developed one of my first healthy habits into what I see to be “adult” Giana, writing. I don’t see why I view writing to be such a sophisticated and adult-like activity because I did do it as a kid minimally, but that’s how I see it. I see writing as making advances toward my future self, setting up a routine for writing so that I’ll still be in it as an adult.

Benefits?

You might be wondering. How can writing as an adult benefit you? Well, let me explain. See, adulthood comes with many problems ones that never seem to have a solution but for me, I hope to make that solution by writing about the situation and doing nothing more. When I start to struggle in college my solution will be to write. When I run into relationship problems and feel like the world doesn’t understand me. I’m sure that paper will though. Not only this but I hope through my writing I can advance my vocabulary and possibly make writing a part of my profession.

All in all, what I’m trying to defend is that my staying up late now might just benefit me in the future. It could even help you too. Maybe you can find a better time for writing, a time not so late at night. PERFECT. Just find the time to write now and make it consistent so that in the future when you have nowhere else to turn to. A paper and pen, or a mobile device for writing ( whichever you prefer) can be your best friend. Writing will never betray you, fail you, or hurt you ( unless you develop arthritis from writing), so depend on it as you please.

Thank you for reading my writing I hope you enjoyed and chose to continue to follow me amidst my writing journey!

--

--

Giana

- RU🦉2026 Early Childhood Education - Always looking to be inspired, always chasing dreams✨