Why it feels write

Gianluca Velardi
2 min readMay 1, 2023

--

Earlier this week I told one of my bosses that I used one of the lessons he taught me in one of my blogs, so I asked if he would like to read it and he said yes.

He later asked me questions like “What was my process for writing?”, “What platform do I use?”, and “What do I write about?”. But the questions that stuck out to me the most can be rephrased in this way: “Why am I writing? What’s the purpose”

As I thought about these questions, I started looking back on my “why”. Originally I just accepted someone's challenge to write a blog every day during the month of April. I also thought that it would be a good way to get recognized by members of the company that I am currently working for.

But with each blog that I’ve written, the more evolved my purpose has become.

What started out as just another notch in my belt became a sort of growth process or therapy.

I started to learn more, think more deeply, and better develop my own points of view.

I also learned how to develop other valuable skills such as:

  • Creating ideas/outlines more quickly
  • Writing as I talk
  • Using GIFs and pictures
  • Writing short paragraphs and blogs
  • Getting to the point
  • Being authentic/writing as me (the most important lesson I’ve learned)

What I have also come to enjoy is the support that I have received from those that have read some of my blogs so far. I honestly wasn't expecting that many people would read them, but hearing that people actually did and liked what I wrote- along with the messages that I shared- made me feel incredibly happy.

To be honest, that’s enough to keep me going. My new “why” is to write because I enjoy it and because there is a slight chance that others might enjoy what I write too.

I don’t expect to get famous- nor do I want to be- but I do want to write something that can possibly inspire others.

Whether it’s writing blogs, going to school, or pursuing a career, make sure you keep your “why” sky high so that your motivation doesn’t make a crash landing.

--

--